Election 2021

The Scottish Parliament is in recess ahead of the election on 6 May.

Because of Covid-19, there are some changes to how the Parliament prepares for the election.

Find out more in our Election 2021 pages

Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

Current party balance

There are 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament. They're currently split into the following parties.

Scottish National Party – 61 MSPs

Party leader - Nicola Sturgeon

Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party – 30 MSPs

Party leader - Douglas Ross

Scottish Labour – 23 MSPs

Party leader - Anas Sarwar

Scottish Green Party – 5 MSPs

Party leader - Patrick Harvie

Scottish Liberal Democrats – 5 MSPs

Party leader - Willie Rennie

Independent MSPs – 3 MSPs

Reform UK - 1 MSP

No party affiliation – 1 MSP

Take a look at the full list of current MSPs and learn more about how MSPs are elected. Results and analysis are also available for all previous elections.

Back to Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)