Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Local Government, Housing and Planning Committee

Meeting Minutes

24th Meeting, 2023

  • Date: Tuesday, October 24, 2023
  • Session: 6
  • Location: T4.60-CR6 The Livingstone Room
  • Meeting opened at: 09:30
  • Meeting closed at: 12:25
  • Published: Tuesday, October 24, 2023 03:18pm

Committee Members Attendees

1 Decision on taking business in private:

The Committee agreed to take items 3 and 4 in private.

2 Visitor Levy (Scotland) Bill:

The Committee took evidence on the Bill at Stage 1 from—

Fiona Campbell, Chief Executive, Association of Scotland’s Self-Caterers ;

David Weston, Chair, Scottish Bed and Breakfast Association (SBBA);

Stacey Dingwall, Head of Policy and External Affairs, Scotland, Federation of Small Businesses;

Stephen Young, Head of Policy, Scottish Land and Estates;

Ben Edgar-Spier, Head of Regulation and Policy, Sykes Cottages;

and then from—

Sarah Allanson, Policy and Membership Director for Scotland and Northern Ireland, British Holiday and Home Parks Association;

Neil Ellis, Chair, Edinburgh Hotels Association;

Simon McGrath, Head of Communications and External Relations, The Camping and Caravanning Club;

Margo Paterson, Chief Executive, Hostelling Scotland;

Frank Whittaker, Chair, Aberdeen City & Shire Hotels Association (ACSHA).

3 Visitor Levy (Scotland) Bill (in private):

The Committee considered the evidence heard earlier in the meeting.

4 Pre-Budget Scrutiny (in private):

The Committee agreed a letter on Pre-Budget Scrutiny.

Share this page