Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-02197

Football Legend Denis Law Honoured with Statue in Aberdeen

Submitted by: Douglas Lumsden, North East Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Monday, November 22, 2021

Submitting member has a registered interest.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Jackie Dunbar (Registered interest ), Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White

That the Parliament recognises the official unveiling of the Denis Law statue, outside Provost Skene’s House in Aberdeen, on 18 November 2021; notes that the statue was unveiled by Denis Law CBE, Manchester United legend, alongside Sir Alex Ferguson, former Manager of Aberdeen FC and Manchester United; celebrates the footballing achievements of Denis Law who is Manchester United’s third highest goal scorer, behind Wayne Rooney and Sir Bobby Charlton, and further celebrates that Denis reportedly broke multiple transfer fee records and is the only Scottish player to have won the Ballon d'Or award.