Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-01743

NHS Orkney Shortlisted at Scottish Health Awards 2021

Submitted by: Liam McArthur, Orkney Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
Date lodged: Monday, October 25, 2021

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Natalie Don, Sharon Dowey, Annabelle Ewing, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Emma Roddick, Douglas Ross, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber

That the Parliament congratulates NHS Orkney on being shortlisted for the Leader of the Year Award and the Midwife Award at this year's Scottish Health Awards; understands that Maureen Firth, NHS Orkney Head of Primary Care, and the team of midwives at the Balfour Hospital have been shortlisted, which is a huge achievement and testament to the high quality of care they deliver; recognises Maureen's leadership of the operational delivery to both the COVID-19 Assessment Centre and around the whole vaccination programme, which ensured Orkney's rollout was as smooth as possible; acknowledges that her consistent communication with the community throughout the process undoubtedly helped the particularly high uptake in vaccinations evident in Orkney; further recognises the whole team of midwives at NHS Orkney, who are a shining example of person-centred, high-quality care that helps to ensure more families can have care delivered in the isles; notes that the annual Scottish Health Awards are the most prestigious and that this year's ceremony will recognise the incredible service NHS Scotland and its partners across health and social care have demonstrated throughout the COVID-19 pandemic; wishes Maureen and her midwife colleagues at NHS Orkney all the very best of success at the awards, which are due to take place on 4 November 2021, and commends them and all nominees for their outstanding service to the people of Scotland.