Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-00734

Team GB Olympic Squad

Submitted by: Alex Cole-Hamilton, Edinburgh Western, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
Date lodged: Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Supported by: Jackie Baillie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Jackson Carlaw, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Craig Hoy, Dean Lockhart, Douglas Lumsden, Paul O'Kane, Douglas Ross, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Anas Sarwar, Colin Smyth, Paul Sweeney, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Brian Whittle

That the Parliament congratulates all Team GB coaches and athletes on their success in qualifying for the Tokyo Olympic Games; acknowledges the difficulties that the whole squad has faced due to the COVID-19 pandemic; considers that these Olympic games will be unlike any other; further acknowledges that the COVID-19 virus is still very much a risk; hopes that safety will be paramount throughout the games; celebrates the positive contribution to society that Olympians make; further celebrates how the games will inspire people across the world to take up sport, and welcomes the positive impact sport has on physical and mental health.