Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-00732

Kilwinning Scouts Duke of Edinburgh Expeditions

Submitted by: Ruth Maguire, Cunninghame South, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, July 21, 2021

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney

That the Parliament congratulates the 19th Ayrshire (Kilwinning) Scouts on completing their Duke of Edinburgh expeditions; understands that the Scouts were split into two groups, Silver, with participants Liam Hamilton, Hallie Graham, James McIntee and Katie Roy, and Gold, with participants Euan Comrie, Kian McLaughlin, Cameron Shearer and Fraser Chisholm; understands that the Silver group completed a 60km expedition starting in Sanquhar and travelling through Crawford John down to Elvan Water back up to Douglas, while the Gold group completed a similar expedition that involved hiking from Douglas into Muirkirk via a 26km route; notes that they carried all their own equipment, which included tents, stoves, survival equipment and more; congratulates both groups on the successful completion of their expeditions, and wishes them all the best in their future endeavours.