Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-00690

Supporting Team GB at the Tokyo Olympics

Submitted by: Claire Baker, Mid Scotland and Fife, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Friday, July 16, 2021

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Sarah Boyack, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Alex Cole-Hamilton, James Dornan, Sharon Dowey, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Liam McArthur, Stuart McMillan, Pauline McNeill, Edward Mountain, Paul O'Kane, Mark Ruskell, Anas Sarwar, Colin Smyth, Tess White

That the Parliament welcomes the news that West Fife will have two representatives competing for Team GB at this summer’s Toyko 2020 Olympic Games, with 47 Scots among the 376-strong line-up heading to Tokyo; recognises that Dunfermline-born, Caroline Weir, will be competing as part of the women’s football squad, and Nicole Yeargin, whose mother comes from Dunfermline, competed for Pitreavie Amateur Athletics Club at the Muller British Athletics Championships 2021 where she secured her qualification in the 400m; appreciates that all Olympic athletes compete with an understanding of the Olympic values of friendship, excellence, respect, courage, determination, inspiration and equality; notes that the Games will take place without spectators; urges everyone to get behind Team GB and support the competitors throughout the competition, and congratulates all those who have qualified to represent Team GB at the Olympic Games and wishes them all the best in Tokyo.