Election 2021

Elections to the Scottish Parliament were held on 6 May.  We are currently updating the website with the results of the election.

Current and previous MSPs

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S5M-22616

Farewell to Coatbridge Clergy

Submitted by: Elaine Smith, Central Scotland, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Thursday, September 3, 2020

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Neil Findlay, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Richard Lyle, Fulton MacGregor, Margaret Mitchell, Stewart Stevenson, Maureen Watt

That the Parliament congratulates Father Eamon Sweeney, Sister Moira Duffy and Father Colin Hughes on decades of service to the Coatbridge community in St Patrick’s, Holy Trinity and All Saints, and St Stephen’s Roman Catholic Churches; notes that Father Sweeney served for 25 years as Parish Priest in St Patrick’s supported by Sr Moira, while Father Hughes served 22 years as Parish Priest for Holy Trinity and All Saints, latterly combining this role with Parish Priest of St Stephen’s; commends Sister Moira, Fr Hughes and Fr Sweeney for their contribution to the Coatbridge community by assisting and improving the lives of local people, not only spiritually but physically in their efforts in helping to tackle issues of loneliness and poverty, especially for the most vulnerable people in society, and wishes each of them well as they leave Coatbridge, either to enter retirement or move on to serve the Catholic Church elsewhere.