Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Congratulating Winners of UHI Business Competition

  • Submitted by: Jamie Halcro Johnston, Highlands and Islands, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 25 February 2020
  • Motion reference: S5M-21004

That the Parliament congratulates the winners of the University of the Highlands and Islands (UHI) 2020 Business Competition; recognises that the contest has been organised for the last 14 years by the UHI Centre for Enterprise and Innovation to promote innovation and entrepreneurship; notes that nine out of the 15 finalists, drawn from a total of 90 entrants, shared the competition’s prize fund; acknowledges in particular the top prizewinner, Alison Ruickbie, from Elgin, whose zero-waste shop, Re:Store, has been operating in Lossiemouth since October 2019; acknowledges the importance of enterprise and innovation to the economy of the Highlands and Islands region, and extends thanks to the university and local business for making the contest possible.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Michelle Ballantyne, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Finlay Carson, Peter Chapman, Maurice Corry, Jamie Greene, Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Gordon Lindhurst, Richard Lyle, Ruth Maguire, Margaret Mitchell, Alexander Stewart, David Torrance, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle