Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Stuart Cosgrove Wins the Penderyn Music Book Prize

  • Submitted by: Ivan McKee, Glasgow Provan, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 10 April 2018
  • Motion reference: S5M-11545

That the Parliament congratulates the journalist, Stuart Cosgrove, who lives in Dennistoun in Glasgow, on winning the 2018 Penderyn Music Book Prize, which, it understands, is the only UK-based book prize specifically for music titles, for Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul; notes that this is the second part of his epic trilogy about soul music and social change in three cities across the United States in the 1960s; acknowledges that Detroit 67: The Year that Changed Soul, was nominated for the 2015 prize, and that the final instalment, Harlem 69: The Future of Soul, is due to be published in October 2018; commends Stuart on his knowledge of Memphis, even though, for him, the city is more than 2,000 miles from home; wishes him and the award organisers all the best, and hopes that Stuart doesn't find his new fame "too hard to handle".

Supported by: Tom Arthur, Graeme Dey, Bob Doris, Neil Findlay, Kenneth Gibson, Jenny Gilruth, Clare Haughey, Bill Kidd, Richard Lochhead, Richard Lyle, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Joan McAlpine, Stuart McMillan, Ash Regan, Stewart Stevenson, David Torrance, Sandra White