Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

International Success for SRUC’s Animal Behaviour and Welfare Team

  • Submitted by: Miles Briggs, Lothian, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 31 August 2017
  • Motion reference: S5M-07396

That the Parliament congratulates academics from Scotland's Rural College's (SRUC) Animal Behaviour and Welfare team, based at its Easter Bush campus, on winning major awards at the recent International Society for Applied Ethology (ISAE) Congress in Denmark, which it understands is the main forum for animal behaviour and welfare scientists internationally; notes that Professor Alistair Lawrence, Chair of Animal Behaviour and Welfare at SRUC and the University of Edinburgh, was made an Honorary Fellow of the ISAE in recognition of his massive contribution to applied animal behaviour science; further notes that Dr Irene Camerlink received the ISAE New Investigator Award for 2017, while Professor Francoise Wemelsfelder won the ISAE Creativity Award for 2017; considers that these awards are richly deserved and a further boost to the already high international reputation enjoyed by the SRUC in the field of animal behaviour and welfare, and wishes all at the SRUC continued success in the future.

Supported by: Tom Arthur, Jeremy Balfour, Michelle Ballantyne, Colin Beattie, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Peter Chapman, Maurice Corry, Bruce Crawford, Graeme Dey, Murdo Fraser, Maurice Golden, Jamie Greene, Rachael Hamilton, Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Gordon Lindhurst, Ben Macpherson, Ruth Maguire, Tom Mason, Margaret Mitchell, Ash Regan, Gail Ross, John Scott, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Brian Whittle