Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Clackmannan Primary School Sets Up Own Bank

  • Submitted by: Alexander Stewart, Mid Scotland and Fife, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 26 January 2017
  • Motion reference: S5M-03688

That the Parliament congratulates pupils from Clackmannan Primary School on setting up their own bank; understands that children from the school launched their new Clackmannan Super Savers scheme in conjunction with Clackmannanshire Credit Union after learning about money, banks, loans and interest rates during the school’s Financial Fortnight, which was held in January 2017; notes that the children are being encouraged to pay in money to save for a goal, such as a treat at Easter or a trip during the summer holidays; welcomes that the credit union is hoping to introduce similar schemes in schools across the Wee County, and wishes the scheme continued success.

Supported by: Claire Baker, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Bill Bowman, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Peter Chapman, Maurice Corry, Murdo Fraser, Maurice Golden, Jamie Greene, Rachael Hamilton, Alison Harris, John Lamont, Gordon Lindhurst, Richard Lyle, Margaret Mitchell, Edward Mountain, Oliver Mundell, Douglas Ross, Gail Ross, Liz Smith, Ross Thomson, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle