Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

World Endurance Drivers Championship

  • Submitted by: Joan McAlpine, South Scotland, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 13 November 2013
  • Motion reference: S4M-08295

That the Parliament congratulates Dumfries-born driver Allan McNish who has secured the World Endurance Championship alongside his Audi team-mates, Tom Kristensen and Loic Duval, following a third place finish in the penultimate race of the series in Shanghai; acknowledges that he is the first UK sports car world champion since Derek Warwick won the title in 1992; notes that this season Allan won three races in the R18 e-tron quattro, including winning for a third time at the prestigious 24 hour race at Le Mans; also notes that he has been runner-up on three occasions in the seven events held so far; recognises that this is the first world title Allan has won in what it considers his illustrious 25-year career, and wishes him well for the final round in Bahrain on 30 November 2013.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Chic Brodie, Roderick Campbell, Graeme Dey, Nigel Don, James Dornan, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Rob Gibson, Jamie Hepburn, Jim Hume, Adam Ingram, Colin Keir, Bill Kidd, Richard Lyle, Mike MacKenzie, John Mason, Stewart Maxwell, Mark McDonald, Aileen McLeod, Stuart McMillan, Elaine Murray, Gil Paterson, Kevin Stewart, David Torrance, Maureen Watt, Sandra White