Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S4M-02225

Blacklist of Construction Workers

Submitted by: John Finnie, Highlands and Islands, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Supported by: Colin Beattie, Chic Brodie, Margaret Burgess, Annabelle Ewing, Linda Fabiani, Rob Gibson, Patrick Harvie, Hugh Henry, Jamie Hepburn, Adam Ingram, Colin Keir, Bill Kidd, Richard Lyle, Gordon MacDonald, Mike MacKenzie, Joan McAlpine, Mark McDonald, Christina McKelvie, Fiona McLeod, Stuart McMillan, John Park, Dennis Robertson, Kevin Stewart, Dave Thompson, David Torrance, Jean Urquhart, Bill Walker, Maureen Watt, Sandra White, John Wilson, Humza Yousaf

That the Parliament notes with concern reports suggesting the existence of a so-called blacklist of construction workers who have, as a consequence of participating in trade union activities, been identified as troublesome; understands that an investigation by the Information Commissioner’s Office has concluded that the list contains information that could only have been provided by the police or security services; believes that, should it have taken place, such collusion is completely unacceptable, and condemns any companies or organisations that participate in the creation or use of such blacklists.

Amendments that have not been voted on

Motion ref. S4M-02225.1

Blacklist of Construction Workers - Amendment

Submitted by: Drew Smith, Glasgow, Scottish Labour, Date lodged: Thursday, March 8, 2012

Supported by: Neil Bibby, Helen Eadie, Patricia Ferguson, Neil Findlay, Rhoda Grant, Iain Gray, Patrick Harvie, Hugh Henry, Hanzala Malik, Anne McTaggart, John Park, Richard Simpson, David Stewart, Sandra White
Current status: Taken in the chamber on Monday, January 1, 0001