Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Vote, Vote, Vote for Strathpeffer, Portobello and Leith

  • Submitted by: Rob Gibson, Caithness, Sutherland and Ross, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 01 December 2011
  • Motion reference: S4M-01448

That the Parliament congratulates Strathpeffer Community Centre in Ross-shire and Portobello and Leith Community Wind Energy Project in Edinburgh for making it through to the final round of voting in the contest to receive funding toward completion of their community renewables and energy saving projects; notes that they are the only Scottish projects to make it through to the final round and congratulates them on what it sees as their drive and tenacity in pursuing their projects to this stage; notes that they have chosen St Andrew's Day, Scotland's national day, to launch a campaign for Scots to support  their two projects; notes that both projects have engaged with the local community in the promotion of renewable energy and energy  saving; considers that community-owned renewables and energy saving can make an important contribution to tackling climate change and reducing fuel bills, and encourages all those who support community-owned renewables and energy saving to register their support for these projects on the website by 3 December 2011.

Supported by: Colin Beattie, Chic Brodie, Margaret Burgess, Roderick Campbell, Malcolm Chisholm, Graeme Dey, Annabelle Ewing, John Finnie, Kenneth Gibson, Patrick Harvie, Adam Ingram, Alison Johnstone, Bill Kidd, Richard Lyle, Angus MacDonald, Mike MacKenzie, Joan McAlpine, Gil Paterson, Dennis Robertson, Kevin Stewart, Dave Thompson, David Torrance, Jean Urquhart, Maureen Watt, Paul Wheelhouse, Sandra White, John Wilson