Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Congratulating Scotland’s World Champion Football Team

  • Submitted by: Ash Regan, Edinburgh Eastern, Alba Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 18 April 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12905

That the Parliament congratulates the Scotland National Cerebral Palsy Football Team on winning the International Federation of Cerebral Palsy Football (IFCPF) Men’s World Championships on 18 April 2024; notes that the team triumphed in the tournament after defeating Northern Ireland in the final held in Salou, Spain; understands that the Scotland team is made up of players from across Scotland with cerebral palsy, stroke or acquired brain injury; notes that the team was founded in 1995 in partnership with Scottish Disability Sport; understands that it has competed across the world in many competitions and, over the last eight years, has competed with the top 16 elite teams; welcomes the role of Scottish Para-Football, the first affiliated national association for para-football in the world, in bringing together multiple disciplines of football under one national umbrella, and resolves to support the purpose of Scottish Para-Football to provide a voice for all those playing parallel versions of the game, to champion the achievements of Scottish para-footballers and to promote inclusivity and equality in order to grow the game.

Supported by: Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Stephanie Callaghan, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Tim Eagle, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Christine Grahame, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Ben Macpherson, Stuart McMillan, Alex Rowley, Liz Smith, Colin Smyth, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Annie Wells, Tess White, Elena Whitham