Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

100 Years of the BBC in Edinburgh

  • Submitted by: Miles Briggs, Lothian, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 16 April 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12859

That the Parliament celebrates the centenary of the first radio broadcast by the BBC in the city of Edinburgh; recognises what it sees as the important contribution of the BBC in Edinburgh to the creative economy and the cultural life of Scotland; believes that, since the first live radio transmission from Edinburgh on 1 May 1924, the BBC base in the city has become a centre of excellence for content specialising in arts and culture, religion and ethics, audio features and documentaries, and news, politics and current affairs; celebrates the content made in Edinburgh for the BBC, including BBC Radio Scotland live strands The Afternoon Show and Sunday Morning, and network radio series and BBC Scotland podcasts, including The Artificial Human, In Dark Corners, The House of Lion and The Culture Scene; welcomes the opening of a new UK-wide BBC network radio and audio production hub co-located in Edinburgh, and wishes the BBC in Edinburgh a successful future as it enters its second century.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Neil Bibby, Jackson Carlaw, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Tim Eagle, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Kenneth Gibson, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ben Macpherson, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Mark Ruskell, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White, Brian Whittle