Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Orkney Nominees at Trad Music Awards

  • Submitted by: Liam McArthur, Orkney Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 13 November 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-11206

That the Parliament congratulates all of the nominees from Orkney shortlisted in the annual Scots Trad Music Awards, following news that six different award categories have Orcadians on the shortlist; understands that the vibrant yearly Orkney Folk Festival has been nominated for Event of the Year in its 40th anniversary year, while its organiser, Craig Corse, has been shortlisted as a Traditional Music Enabler; commends the Festival for having played such a major role in fostering Orkney’s folk scene, having previously played host to all of the other Orkney nominees in the 2023 awards; notes that Graham Rorie is nominated for Musician of the Year, Catriona Price is nominated for Composer of the Year, Jeneric is shortlisted for Original Work of the Year, and Gnoss is nominated for Folk Band of the Year; understands that, even though Orkney has traditionally featured prominently in the awards, this is still the strongest showing for the county in many years; believes that this reflects Orkney’s flourishing traditional music scene, as well as the hard work and incredible talent of these musicians; further believes that the Scots Trad Music Awards, organised by Hands Up For Trad, has established itself as a crucial part of the celebration of traditional music in Scotland, and wishes all the finalists the very best of luck at the awards ceremony in Dundee on 2 December 2023.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Roz McCall, Audrey Nicoll, Douglas Ross, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Tess White