Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

BBC’s Scotland’s Greatest Escape

  • Submitted by: Fergus Ewing, Inverness and Nairn, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 14 April 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08536

That the Parliament commends the recent BBC Scotland programme, Scotland’s Greatest Escape, for showcasing some of the very best holiday destinations and businesses within Scotland; notes that it enabled people to nominate over 1,000 holiday experiences, providing, it believes, a great opportunity for the public to show its support for Scottish tourism during a challenging period for the sector; understands that it featured such diverse and unique accommodation as boathouses, treehouses, bothies, cottages, cabins, and castles, as well as experiences from historical, luxury and adventure holidays; congratulates the overall winners, Inverloanan Bothies, in Argyll & Bute, which was selected by an expert industry panel of judges, and applauds all of those who participated in the series; believes that the show has helped to raise the awareness of a national audience of the quality of getaways, staycations and remarkable hidden gems in Scotland; considers that this is a vital industry for the country, generating billions of pounds per annum and providing thousands of jobs; appreciates the contribution, hard work and dedication of all of the professionals who work tirelessly and passionately in the tourism sector, and believes that such tourism businesses need to be supported by government and communities in the context of recovery from COvID-19 and the cost of living crisis, to ensure that they can continue to survive and thrive well into the future.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Donald Cameron (Registered interest) , Jackson Carlaw, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Tess White