Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

10th Festival of Traditional Buildings

  • Submitted by: Gordon MacDonald, Edinburgh Pentlands, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 04 October 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-06155

That the Parliament congratulates the Edinburgh Traditional Building Forum on delivering the 10th Festival of Traditional Buildings in August 2022 and the welcomed return to it being delivered in person; notes that the event focussed on sustainability of traditional buildings; recognises the efforts of the forum to celebrate Edinburgh’s traditional buildings, bringing together experts with the wider public, in order to demonstrate knowledge and skills across a whole spectrum of traditional construction skills; understands that the festival was a collaboration between the National Federation of Roofing Contractors, Historic Environment Scotland, the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings, the Built Environment Forum Scotland, the Stone Federation Great Britain, the British Geological Survey, GLM Chartered Surveyors, Bannockburn House, Scottish Lime Centre Trust, David Fisher & Sons Plastering, Nevin Decorators, Developing the Young Workforce, and City of Edinburgh Council; believes that this collaborative approach plays a vital role in widening the public’s understanding of the importance of maintaining Scotland’s traditional buildings with the right knowledge and skills, and thanks each of the organisations for their ongoing efforts to protect and maintain Scotland’s historic built environment.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Bob Doris, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Fulton MacGregor, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Alex Rowley, Collette Stevenson, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Elena Whitham