Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Annual Scots Language Awards

  • Submitted by: Emma Harper, South Scotland, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 29 September 2022
  • Submitting member has a registered interest.

  • Motion reference: S6M-06072

That the Parliament congratulates the 2022 winners of the Scots Language Awards at a ceremony at Dundee’s Gardyne Theatre on 24 September 2022; understands that the night was hosted by social media personality and poet, Len Pennie, and presenter and columnist, Alistair Heather, and was live-streamed to international audiences around the world, as well as to folks here in Scotland; understands that the organisers, Hands Up for Trad, Scotland’s traditional culture, music and arts organisation, founded the Awards in 2019 to celebrate Scots culture and language, alongside social media campaign success #GiesAScotsPhraseDay, as part of the United Nations Year of Indigenous Languages; further understands that the Awards are designed to recognise the fantastic efforts and work of the people and organisations, who all use and speak Scots; applauds the winners of the 2022 Awards including Janet Paisley for Services to Scots, Anne Donovan who won the Scots Champion Award, Dr Jamie Fairbairn, Young Scots Writer of the Year, Eva McMillan, Scots Writer of the Year, Liz Lochhead, Scots Media Person of the Year, Doric Dad, Scots Bairns Book of the Year, Scots Speaker of the Year, Marjolein Robertson, Scots Teacher of the Year, Amanda Dunn, Shortlees Primary School, Kilmarnock, Scots School of the Year, Mearns Academy in Aberdeenshire, Scots Project of the Year, The Maiden’s Leap by Historic Environment Scotland and Perth High School, Scots Book of the Year, Be guid tae yer Mammy, Emma Grae, Scots Performer of the Year, Alan Reid aka Bundy and Scots Business of the Year, ReStore, Lossiemouth; additionally thanks all the event sponsors, including the Scottish Government, Scots Language Centre and Education Scotland, for providing sponsorship and support to the Award, and wishes the winners, as well as the organisers and sponsors of these annual awards, all the best for their future endeavours and for all the work that they do to promote Scots on behalf of Scotland’s 1.5 million Scots speakers.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Graeme Dey, Bob Doris, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Rachael Hamilton, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Audrey Nicoll, Emma Roddick, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed