Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-05311

Daisy McNamara Crowned Scotland’s Young Orienteer of the Year

Submitted by: Kenneth Gibson, Cunninghame North, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Graeme Dey, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney

That the Parliament congratulates Daisy McNamara, from Whiting Bay, Arran, on winning Scotland’s Young Orienteer of the Year; understands that Daisy has contributed locally and internationally to advance the sport as a member and coach of Ayrshire Orienteering Club; further understands that she initiated orienteering sessions on Arran and received grant funding from the Orienteering Foundation to purchase equipment for her community to offer young people an opportunity to take part in the sport; acknowledges her exciting summer as she travels to Sweden for four weeks with the Scottish Junior Squad and British Junior Squad to compete, and wishes Daisy all the best with her sporting career.