Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-05239

Lornshill Pupils Champion Home Start Clackmannanshire in YPI Initiative and Raise £3,000 for the Local Group

Submitted by: Alexander Stewart, Mid Scotland and Fife, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Friday, July 1, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Dean Lockhart, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Douglas Ross, Paul Sweeney, Annie Wells, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Brian Whittle

That the Parliament welcomes the news that pupils from Lornshill Academy in Alloa have championed Home Start Clackmannanshire via the Youth and Philanthropy Initiative (YPI), which, it believes, is a powerful active citizenship programme, empowering young people to make a difference in their communities while developing a range of skills and confidence that will prove helpful in later life; understands that YPI is the largest independent initiative being delivered in Scottish education, with each school responsible for directing a grant of £3,000 to a local charity championed by its students through a unique programme of teamwork, research, and competition; acknowledges that, for this, the pupils prepared and delivered a presentatio, which secured a grant of £3,000 to Home Start Clackmannanshire in order to further support their Home Start Family Support Groups; commends all the pupils involved for their fantastic work with this initiative, and congratulates Home Start Clackmannanshire on its continued endeavours for the benefit of Wee County communities.