Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-05238

Saltcoats’ Motherland Spice Wins Team of the Year at Scottish Curry Awards

Submitted by: Kenneth Gibson, Cunninghame North, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Friday, July 1, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Foysol Choudhury, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Annie Wells

That the Parliament congratulates Motherland Spice in Saltcoats on winning team of the year at the 14th annual Scottish Curry Awards; understands that the event, held on 13 June 2022 at the Glasgow Mariott Hotel, played host to the crème de la crème of restaurants and takeaways from across Scotland and welcomed 350 guests in a celebration of the Scottish curry industry; is aware that Motherland Spice is a newly-refurbished family business on Saltcoats’ Bradshaw Street run by Mr and Mrs Madhav and Radha Bhandari and a small team of just 12 front and back of house staff; recognises that the restaurant, first established in 2012, offers Indian and Nepalese cuisine; understands that its customers’ wide smiles after a big meal and their continued support keeps the team motivated and striving to constantly do better; considers that Madhav Bhandari’s business success is inspirational given his humble beginnings in Nepal as the child of a Gurkha soldier injured in the line of duty, and wishes owners Mr and Mrs Bhandari and everyone at Motherland Spice well for the future.