Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-05167

S.M.I.L.E. Counselling Named Charity of the Year 2022

Submitted by: Sarah Boyack, Lothian, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Alexander Burnett, Foysol Choudhury, Meghan Gallacher, Kenneth Gibson, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane (Registered interest ), Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Paul O'Kane, Colin Smyth, Paul Sweeney, Martin Whitfield

That the Parliament congratulates S.M.I.L.E. Counselling on winning the Charity of the Year award at the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO) 2022 Scottish Charity Awards; recognises that S.M.I.L.E. is a West Lothian-based Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO) delivering a bespoke outreach counselling service to young people when they need it most; believes that the contributions by the organisation have been invaluable to young people in West Lothian; welcomes the ongoing success of SCVO’s annual Charity Awards, and notes the important role that the event plays in highlighting the incredible efforts of organisations and individuals across Scotland’s voluntary sector.