Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-03383

Recognition for NHS Fife Nursery Nurses

Submitted by: David Torrance, Kirkcaldy, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Thursday, March 3, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Alex Rowley, Mark Ruskell, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber

That the Parliament commends Kirkcaldy’s Victoria Hospital maternity ward nursery nurses on being shortlisted as finalists for the Neonatal Nurses Association's (NNA) Practice Improvement Award 2022; notes that the NNA was established over 40 years ago in 1977 by Beryl Chadney, a senior nurse at the Department of Health, with a purpose that has remained unchanged to this day, namely, as a national organisation that represents neonatal nurses, and is steered by neonatal nurses to promote neonatal nursing for the benefit of sick newborns and their families throughout the country; understands that the NNA awards are presented to inspirational neonatal nurses who have made extraordinary differences to the lives of their colleagues, and the infants in their care or to their families; further understands that the NNA board was very impressed to learn about the nursery nurse roles within NHS Fife and the impact that they have on care delivery and improvement; praises what it sees as the expertise, innovation, empathy, and dedication of the whole team, and wishes them every success.