Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Get involved

Oil and Gas

This Cross-party group's purpose:

To provide a platform for parliamentarians to discuss all issues relating to the whole structure of the oil and gas industry; to raise specific issues of concern with the Scottish Government and the industry itself; to promote innovation in offshore engineering; to encourage greater recognition of the importance of the oil and gas industry to Scotland and the UK and to support the use of offshore technology and skills in the development and production of renewable energy.

Next meeting

Monday, March 13, 2023

The next meeting and AGM of the Cross Party Group on Oil and Gas will take place on Monday 13th of March 2023 at 11:00. This meeting will be held on Microsoft Teams.

The meeting will also hear from the new Chief Executive of Offshore Energies UK, Dave Whitehouse, who will give an update on the industry in Scotland and it’s role in the transition. A bio is also given below.


1. Convenors welcome
2. Approval of previous minutes and annual return
3. Election of officers
4. Q&A with Dave Whitehouse, Chief Executive, OEUK
5. AOB

BIO: David Whitehouse, Chief Executive, OEUK
As an established industry leader with 30 years of experience, David has been a longstanding champion of OEUK, the leading trade association for the UK’s integrating offshore energies industry. Its membership includes over 400 organisations with an interest in offshore oil, gas, carbon capture and storage, hydrogen and wind. From operators to the supply chain and across the lifecycle from production to decommissioning, they are safely providing cleaner fuel, power and products to the UK.

David is respected across the sector for his strategic and hands-on leadership in the North Sea and around the world, including the USA, Netherlands and Philippines. His passion for energy, engineering and innovation is built on a PhD in Theoretical Chemistry from Cambridge University and a first-class degree in Chemistry from Manchester University. He is currently studying at the University of Aberdeen for a Masters in Renewable Engineering, an area of key growth and interest for OEUK and its members.

Get in touch

If you want to get in touch, you can contact Craig Wilson


Involved in the group

MSPs, individuals and organisations who participate in and support this group.

Current Members

Fergus Ewing


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Inverness and Nairn (Constituency)

Alexander Burnett

Deputy Convener

Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: Aberdeenshire West (Constituency)

Beatrice Wishart

Deputy Convener

Party: Scottish Liberal Democrats

MSP for: Shetland Islands (Constituency)

Jackie Dunbar


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Aberdeen Donside (Constituency)

Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Cunninghame North (Constituency)

Liam Kerr


Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: North East Scotland (Region)

Michael Marra


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: North East Scotland (Region)

Audrey Nicoll


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Aberdeen South and North Kincardine (Constituency)

Non MSP Individuals

Ibiyemi Omeihe


Offshore Energies UK - secretary

Weber Shandwick

Aspect Reputation Management

Neptune Energy







Skills Development Scotland



Decom North Sea

Engineering Construction Industry Training Board

Oil and gas Authority

Rail Maratime and Transport Workers

Robert Gordons University

Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage

Scottish Enterprise