Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Giffnock Scouts Reach 110th Year Anniversary

  • Submitted by: Jackson Carlaw, Eastwood, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 11 February 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-03165

That the Parliament congratulates the 28th Giffnock Scouts on reaching the milestone of being 110 years old on 8 February 2022; understands that this Eastwood scouting group, one of the oldest in Scotland, was established at a meeting held on 8 February 1912, when it was determined that a scout troop should be set up in the local community of Giffnock, and that a committee was put together to proceed with this task; further understands that, during the First World War, members of the Giffnock Scouts carried out duties with the Coastguard Service, in hospitals and other important war work; notes that, when the Second World War was taking place, the local scout hall became the headquarters of the Giffnock Home Guard; believes that the Giffnock Scouts is well established as an important part of the local community and provides opportunities for young people to take part in a range of enjoyable activities; commends the Giffnock Scouts on reaching its 110th anniversary, and considers that the Scouts, as an organisation, equips young people in Scotland, and across the UK, with vital life skills, and provides them with a fun experience that, it believes, supports personal development.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Rachael Hamilton, Craig Hoy, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Paul O'Kane, Douglas Ross, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber