Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-02811

200th Anniversary of the Coastguard

Submitted by: Clare Adamson, Motherwell and Wishaw, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Donald Cameron, Katy Clark, Bob Doris, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Liam McArthur, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Mercedes Villalba, Martin Whitfield

That the Parliament congratulates the Coastguard on its 200th anniversary on 15 January 2022; considers that the Coastguard has gone from strength to strength, with over 310 Coastguard teams and 10 search and rescue helicopter bases that ensure safety around the UK shores, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, as well as working with the RNLI to provide support to other critical services, including the NHS during the COVID-19 pandemic; expresses its warm thanks to the Coastguard and for the dedication shown by 3,500 volunteers, for keeping our communities and waters safe; welcomes how the service has developed and continues to do so, and wishes everyone involved with the organisation all the best for the future.