Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-00500

Anna Cowen, Young Scottish Musical Theatre Performer of the Year 2021

Submitted by: Paul O'Kane, West Scotland, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Monday, June 28, 2021

Submitting member has a registered interest.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Sarah Boyack, Miles Briggs, Jackson Carlaw, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson

That the Parliament congratulates Anna Cowen from Newton Mearns on being named the Young Scottish Musical Theatre Performer of the Year 2021 by the Singers Company; notes that Anna has been performing in musical theatre for over a decade through various amateur dramatic theatre groups; believes that amateur theatre groups, such as Harlequin Eastwood Theatre for Youth, have a positive impact on the lives of young people; notes what it sees as the ambitious plans by East Renfrewshire Council to build a new multi-million pound theatre and leisure centre at Eastwood Park in Giffnock to help nurture the next generation of talent; wishes Anna every success, and looks forward to seeing what she will achieve throughout her career.