Election 2021

The final results of the election are now in.  Find out which MSPs have been elected and what happens next in Parliament.

Current MSPs and parliamentary timeline

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S5M-16682

1st Troon BB Pipe Band

Submitted by: John Scott, Ayr, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Friday, March 29, 2019

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Michelle Ballantyne, Bill Bowman, Miles Briggs, Donald Cameron, Maurice Corry, Kenneth Gibson, Maurice Golden, Jamie Greene, Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Gordon Lindhurst, Richard Lyle, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Margaret Mitchell, Edward Mountain, Gil Paterson, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Annie Wells

That the Parliament congratulates the 1st Troon Boys’ Brigade (BB) company’s pipe band on being awarded first place in the Pipe Championship category at the 2019 BB Scottish Bands Contest in front of an audience of over 300 people on 23 March at Hutchesons’ Grammar School in Glasgow; notes that the band, which was formed in 1919, boasts an impressive CV with its name on every major championship trophy it its class; understands that the current band is made up of seven pipers and eight drummers; believes that music allows young people to develop both hard and soft skills and provides them with an opportunity to express themselves, develop their musical talents and work as a team, and acknowledges the hard work, skill and dedication displayed by the BB members and their volunteer instructors.