Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Stirling Credit Union

  • Submitted by: Dean Lockhart, Mid Scotland and Fife, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 23 January 2017
  • Motion reference: S5M-03568

That the Parliament congratulates everyone at Stirling Credit Union on it being awarded £11,400 by the Lloyds Banking Group; understands that this will be used to enable it to purchase new IT equipment and set up a reliable internet connection; notes that, due to the wide variety of services offered by the credit union, such as junior saving and payroll deduction schemes to encourage responsible saving, it has been credited as being one of the most innovative and forward-thinking; believes that Scotland continues to play a leading role in the expansion of credit unions, with the fourth-highest credit union membership level in Europe per-head of population, and wishes Stirling Credit Union continued success.

Supported by: Claire Baker, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Murdo Fraser, Maurice Golden, Rachael Hamilton, Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, John Lamont, Richard Lyle, Margaret Mitchell, Edward Mountain, Oliver Mundell, Douglas Ross, John Scott, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Ross Thomson, Annie Wells