Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S4M-15327

Loss of Government Funding for Young Farmers Association

Submitted by: Alex Fergusson, Galloway and West Dumfries, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Supported by: Gavin Brown, Cameron Buchanan, Murdo Fraser, Annabel Goldie, Jim Hume, John Lamont, Liam McArthur, Jamie McGrigor, Alison McInnes, Nanette Milne, Margaret Mitchell, Elaine Murray, Mary Scanlon, Tavish Scott, Liz Smith
Current status: Achieved cross-party support

That the Parliament notes with disappointment the Scottish Government’s decision to withdraw financial support from the Scottish Association of Young Farmers Clubs (SAYFC); understands that the annual grant of £66,000 represents some 13% of SAYFC’s income and that 2016 will be the first time in nearly 70 years that the association will not receive government support; acknowledges what it considers the ambassadorial role carried out by young farmers at home and abroad as well as the considerable amount of voluntary community work carried out by young farmers clubs across the country, including in Galloway and West Dumfries; considers that, in the words of the association’s chief executive, “the association offers a crucial network for many young people in rural Scotland as well as unique personal development opportunities”; understands the financial constraints on the Scottish Government, but notes the view that a proportionate reduction in the grant to SAYFC would be more appropriate than its complete withdrawal.