Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Anni Donaldson's Success at Write to End Violence Against Women Awards

  • Submitted by: Mike MacKenzie, Highlands and Islands, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 13 November 2013
  • Motion reference: S4M-08290

That the Parliament congratulates Anni Donaldson on her success at Zero Tolerance’s Write to End Violence Against Women Awards; understands that the awards recognise excellence in violence against women journalism and that winners were chosen by a judging panel, which included the journalist and broadcaster, Lesley Riddoch, the writer and commentator, Gerry Hassan, the National Union of Journalists award winner, Helen Russell, Scottish Women’s Aid’s Lily Greenan, Sheena Campbell from Rape Crisis Scotland and Jenny Kemp from Zero Tolerance; notes that Anni’s article, Why was the sheriff in the [Bill] Walker case so puzzled?, won in the best article category, with the award being presented by Lesley Riddoch; commends Anni for the work that she has done on the issue of violence against women, and hopes that the awards will highlight the issues of violence against women and domestic abuse in Scotland and bring these a step closer to being resolved.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Colin Beattie, Chic Brodie, Roderick Campbell, Nigel Don, James Dornan, Annabelle Ewing, Linda Fabiani, John Finnie, Rob Gibson, Christine Grahame, Jamie Hepburn, Adam Ingram, Alison Johnstone, Richard Lyle, Joan McAlpine, Mark McDonald, Alison McInnes, Christina McKelvie, Stuart McMillan, Gil Paterson, Kevin Stewart, David Torrance, Jean Urquhart, Maureen Watt, Sandra White