Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Celebrating Scotland's Iconic Scotch Whisky Industry

  • Submitted by: Ivan McKee, Glasgow Provan, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 08 January 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-11787
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Wednesday, 17 April 2024

That the Parliament welcomes the reported £7.1 billion each year that is contributed in added value to the UK economy by the Scotch whisky industry through the production of high-quality and internationally successful brands, which are sold to 180 markets around the world; understands that 75% of the Scotch whisky industry's gross value added (GVA) is generated in Scotland, supporting 41,000 jobs and a further 25,000 across the UK; welcomes the over £2 billion of investments that have reportedly been made by the industry over the last five years; believes that the Scotch whisky industry plays a crucial role in Scotland’s ambition to grow its exports, in attracting visitors from overseas to its world-leading visitor experiences, and in decarbonising operations in order to achieve net zero by 2045, and wishes everyone involved in Scotland’s iconic Scotch whisky industry continued success as, it considers, they continue to play an integral role in communities throughout Scotland, including in the Glasgow Provan constituency.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Finlay Carson, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser (Registered interest) , Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Rhoda Grant, Emma Harper, Daniel Johnson, Bill Kidd, Gordon MacDonald, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Ben Macpherson, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Audrey Nicoll, Ash Regan, Mark Ruskell, Colin Smyth, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson, David Torrance, Sue Webber