Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Recognition for Stonehaven Horizon

  • Submitted by: Tess White, North East Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 21 September 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-10536

That the Parliament congratulates Stonehaven Horizon on being awarded a Certificate of Recognition at the Beautiful Scotland awards for its efforts to improve, enhance and protect biodiversity in the local community; notes that the Horizon Project now has around 50 volunteers, tending to over 200 floral displays throughout the local area; recognises that the Stonehaven Horizon project won the Beautiful Scotland Discretionary Year of Stories Award in 2022, for which the Mearn’s Writers, a local writing group, chronicled the town's much-loved characteristics to form a walking tour leaflet for visitors; notes that, in 2021, the Stonehaven Horizon project also won the Haddington 700 Award for its Burns Memorial Garden restoration project, created in memory of Rabbie Burns, who had links to Stonehaven; applauds the ongoing hard work and commitment of volunteers who generously give their time to keep Stonehaven flourishing, and wishes Stonehaven Horizon every success going forward.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Jackson Carlaw, Maggie Chapman, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Russell Findlay, Meghan Gallacher, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle