Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Fulton MacGregor, Coatbridge and Chryston, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 17 March 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08270

That the Parliament recognises the celebration of St Patrick’s Day on 17 March; understands that 2023’s theme is "one", encouraging people from all over the world to connect, participate and to celebrate together as one; notes Coatbridge’s long-standing place as a home for the Irish diaspora in Scotland, with over double the amount of Irish-born residents compared to the rest of Scotland, and with the 1851 census registering 36% of the town’s population as being Irish born; congratulates the organising committee of this year’s St Patrick’s day festival in Coatbridge; acknowledges that it is the first in-person celebration of the event to be held in four years; understands that the festival programme includes music, ceilidhs, food, drink, and more entertainment; wishes the festival continued success into the future; acknowledges the close links that Scotland has had with its Irish neighbours in the previous millennia, and wishes continued close Dalradian links and friendship for millennia to come.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Stephanie Callaghan, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Gillian Mackay, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White