Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-07620

Congratulations to Darvel Football Club

Submitted by: Willie Coffey, Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Donald Cameron, Natalie Don, Bob Doris, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser, Kenneth Gibson, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Carol Mochan, Edward Mountain, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed

That the Parliament congratulates Darvel Football Club on winning its Scottish Cup fourth round match against Aberdeen Football Club, defeating the premiership league opponents 1-0 with a Jordan Kirkpatrick goal in the 19th minute; notes that Darvel play in the sixth tier of the Scottish football league, yet managed to overcome one of the most successful teams in Scottish football, which won the European Cup Winners Cup in 1983; recognises the achievements of owner, John Gall, manager, Mick Kennedy, his staff and players, and the wonderful sense of achievement for the historic town of Darvel, home of Nobel Prize winner, Sir Alexander Fleming; offers best wishes to Aberdeen manager, Jim Goodwin, following what it sees as his magnanimous comments after the match; wishes Darvel Football Club well for its next Scottish Cup match against Falkirk, and wishes Aberdeen Football Club every success for the remainder of the season.