Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Beatrice Wishart, Shetland Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 29 November 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-06978

That the Parliament congratulates Maggie Adamson of Shetland, Skipper at The Swan Trust, for being awarded the Sail Trainer of the Year 2022 award at the Sail Training International Awards 2022, and recognises this significant achievement; understands that The Swan Trust charity operates the restored Shetland Fifie fishing boat, Swan LK243, built in 1900, as a sail training vessel; further understands that Ms Adamson has been part of the Swan crew since 2016 and qualified as a skipper in 2019; commends Ms Adamson for the success of her first season as skipper in 2022, which has seen her welcome 216 primary school pupils aboard for half-day sails, 110 trainees, aged 15 to 25, for full-sail training taster days, and 37 trainees, aged 15 to 25, for overnight and longer passages, which included international excursions to Denmark, the Netherlands and Belgium as part of the Tall Ships Races; congratulates Ms Adamson for delivering, as Skipper, the most successful Tall Ships Races that The Swan Trust has ever had; recognises the responsibility that Ms Adamson has in delivering sail training for young people; understands that Ms Adamson’s work has received positive feedback from the trainees; considers that sail training for young people imparts valuable transferrable skills and builds self-confidence, and wishes Ms Adamson and all at The Swan Trust all the best for the 2023 season.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Maggie Chapman, Sharon Dowey, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Bill Kidd, Liam McArthur, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Collette Stevenson, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Tess White