Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Youth Fusion Receives Voices Gorbachev/Shultz Legacy Youth Award 2022

  • Submitted by: Bill Kidd, Glasgow Anniesland, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 22 August 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-05649

That the Parliament welcomes the award of the 2022 Voices Gorbachev/Shultz Legacy Youth Award to Youth Fusion, following their selection by Voices for a World Free of Nuclear Weapons; notes that Youth Fusion is led by Marzhan Nurzhan, Vanda Proskova, Michaela Sorensen and Nico Edwards; further notes that Youth Fusion’s aim and intention is to inform, educate, connect and engage their fellow young citizens across the globe and that, through their innovation, hard work, determination and intelligence, they have achieved a growing influence across the age ranges and the international body politic; recognises that the award honours the legacy of former USSR President, Mikhail Gorbachev, and former Unites States Secretary of State, George Shultz, in their efforts for nuclear disarmament, and notes that the award will be presented at a ceremony on 26 September 2022, the International Day for the Total Elimination of Nuclear Weapons.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Siobhian Brown, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Graeme Dey, Bob Doris, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Emma Harper, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Alex Rowley, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Mercedes Villalba