Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-05156

Congratulating S.M.I.L.E. Counselling on Receiving Charity of the Year Award

Submitted by: Fiona Hyslop, Linlithgow, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Graeme Dey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed

That the Parliament warmly congratulates S.M.I.L.E. Counselling on winning the Charity of the Year Award at the Scottish Charity Awards 2022 for its multidimensional approach to supporting young people and the wider community with its support based in schools, as well as delivering mental health training and counselling to upskill the whole community to be more resilient and support each other; acknowledges the contribution of this charity and all its staff and wider team, led by the inspiring CEO, Declan Harrigan, who have supported 11- to 24-year-olds in West Lothian over the last seven years by providing a range of services, including face-to-face counselling services, one-to-one phone calls, email and online chat; recognises that, since its establishment, S.M.I.L.E. Counselling has supported 1,000 young people in West Lothian with 7,000 one-to-one counselling sessions offered; thanks the Charity for the positive impact it has made on the lives of young people in West Lothian, and wishes everyone involved continued success in the future.