Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-04626

Bishopton Primary, Word Mania 2022 Champions

Submitted by: Natalie Don, Renfrewshire North and West, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Sharon Dowey, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Jenni Minto, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Sue Webber, Annie Wells

That the Parliament congratulates all the Primary 5 pupils from Bishopton Primary School on winning the Literacy Planet’s Word Mania 2022 competition in their year group; understands that 2,607 schools across 68 countries signed up for the interactive digital contest, Word Mania 2022; notes that the game sees children build as many words as they can in three minutes from a set of 15 randomly-generated letters, and, in doing so, youngsters develop skills such as spelling, vocabulary and word recognition; understands that Bishopton Primary was one of only eight schools in the UK, and the only one in Scotland, to be crowned a winner, and further understands that, as a reward, Bishopton Primary has won a yearly subscription of Literacy Planet, worth £1,800, and a £270 voucher to spend on resources to support literacy.