Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Carers Week 2022, Making Caring Visible, Valued and Supported

  • Submitted by: Gillian Mackay, Central Scotland, Scottish Green Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 18 May 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-04447

That the Parliament welcomes Carers Week 2022, which it understands is an annual campaign that will take place from 6 to 12 June 2022 and on the theme of “Making Caring Visible, Valued and Supported”, coming together to recognise the contribution of the one million unpaid carers and young carers in Scotland; understands that it is organised by six charities in Scotland, which include, Carers Scotland, Carers Trust Scotland, MND Scotland, Oxfam Scotland, the Lewy Body Society and Age Scotland; further understands that there will be hundreds of events held across the country, which will reach out to thousands of unpaid carers and young carers; recognises what it sees as the significant and vital contribution of all unpaid carers before and during the COVID-19 pandemic; considers that the impact of caring on the incomes, employment, education, and the health and wellbeing of all unpaid carers should not be underestimated; believes that the support that unpaid carers provide is worth more than £10.9 billion to the Scottish economy each year; further believes that every effort should be made to ensure that unpaid carers of all ages receive support when they need it, including ensuring that services are urgently brought back to pre-pandemic levels, that help is delivered to help ease the impact of the cost of living crisis and recognition of their particular needs as the country lives with COVID-19, and wishes Carers Week every success.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Alasdair Allan, Siobhian Brown, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Katy Clark, Graeme Dey, Bob Doris, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Ross Greer, Mark Griffin, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Paul O'Kane, Alex Rowley, Mark Ruskell, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Mercedes Villalba, Beatrice Wishart