Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-03125

Shetland Times Former News Editor Jim Tait Honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award

Submitted by: Beatrice Wishart, Shetland Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
Date lodged: Thursday, February 10, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Graeme Dey, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Alex Rowley, Collette Stevenson, Paul Sweeney, Tess White

That the Parliament congratulates former news editor of The Shetland Times, Jim Tait, who has been awarded a lifetime achievement award at the Highlands and Islands Media Awards; understands that Mr Tait served for many years as news editor at The Shetland Times; further understands that his sports commentary, both local and national, was well respected and that he continues to write occasional sports features; commends him for his long career at the newspaper, which has included working as a typesetter as a teenager through to his retirement last year; notes that he was previously named feature writer of the year at the 2015 Highlands and Islands Press Awards; thanks Mr Tait for what it sees as his long-serving contributions to local journalism, and wishes him well in his retirement.