Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-02907

Beijing Winter Olympics 2022 GB Curling Teams

Submitted by: Evelyn Tweed, Stirling, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Thursday, January 27, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Pam Gosal, Fiona Hyslop, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Alex Rowley, Colin Smyth, David Torrance, Sue Webber

That the Parliament wishes that all Scottish athletes competing in the Beijing Winter Olympics 2022 have a successful Olympics; notes that this includes in particular the Men and Women's Great Britain Curling Teams, which are based at the National Curling Academy at the PEAK Leisure Centre in Stirling, part of Stirling's Sports Village; further notes that the National Curling Academy was opened in August 2017, in the run-up to the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang; believes that it provides a dedicated curling facility that gives British Curling athletes a world-class environment in which to train, and understands that the National Curling Academy was built thanks to awards of £1,425,000 from sportscotland and £1,726,566 from Stirling Council to make a total project cost of £3,151,566