Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Get involved

Men's Violence Against Women and Children

This Cross-party group's purpose:

To establish a forum for discussion and innovative thinking on men’s violence against women and children, with a focus on prevention, protection, provision and participation, including, but not limited to, all the forms of violence and exploitation encompassed in “Equally Safe - Scotland’s strategy for preventing and eradicating violence against women and girls.
The purpose is in the public interest as Violence against Women and Girls is the biggest violation of human rights in Scotland, and creating policy and practice that improve Scotland’s response is of the highest public interest.

Our agreed, specific programme includes the following actions:

Monitor, advise on and promote good practice and evidence-based responses.
Promote the rights of women, children and young people experiencing men’s violence and ensure that their experience and views inform the political process.
Promote policy and practice that hold men to account for their violence against women, children and young people.
Link women, children and young people’s experience of violence against women to the wider context of gender equality and women’s inequality. girls." 

Next meeting

Tuesday, September 17, 2024

The next meeting of the Group will take place on 17th September, 18.00-19.30, via Zoom

Get in touch

If you want to get in touch, you can contact Nicola Gilbert.


Involved in the group

MSPs, individuals and organisations who participate in and support this group.

Current Members

Rona Mackay


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Strathkelvin and Bearsden (Constituency)

Beatrice Wishart

Deputy Convener

Party: Scottish Liberal Democrats

MSP for: Shetland Islands (Constituency)

Claire Baker


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: Mid Scotland and Fife (Region)

Katy Clark


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: West Scotland (Region)

James Dornan


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Glasgow Cathcart (Constituency)

Sharon Dowey


Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: South Scotland (Region)

Rhoda Grant


Party: Scottish Labour

MSP for: Highlands and Islands (Region)

Audrey Nicoll


Party: Scottish National Party

MSP for: Aberdeen South and North Kincardine (Constituency)

Tess White


Party: Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

MSP for: North East Scotland (Region)

Non MSP Individuals

Gillian Baker

Nikki Dillon

George Eckton

Liz Gilchrist

Christine Gray

Lily Greenan

Alice Jackson

Kelly Johnson

Nancy Lombard

Stephen Madill

Kallia Manoussaki

Carlene McAvoy

Dr Melanie McCarry

Mhairi McGowan

David Morran

Anne Robertson Brown

Richard Whitecross

 Elisabeth Loose



Amina Muslim Women Resource Centre


Caledonian System

Central Advocacy Partners, Falkirk

Church of Scotland

City of Edinburgh Council, Community Justice

Clinical Psychology Division of the Forensic Mental Health and Learning Disability Service of Greater Glasgow and Clyde NHS

Close the Gap


Edinburgh Women’s Aid


The Evangelical Alliance


Girlguiding Scotland


NHS Lanarkshire Gender-Based Violence Services

NUS Scotland

Pilton Community Health Project

Rape Crisis Scotland

Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre Perth & Kinross


SAY Women

Scottish Association of Social Workers

Scottish Women’s Aid

Thriving Survivors

UN House Scotland

Wise Women

Scottish Women’s Convention