Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S5M-01087

Offshore Safety Awards

Submitted by: Alexander Burnett, Aberdeenshire West, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Thursday, August 18, 2016

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Peter Chapman, Graeme Dey, Murdo Fraser, Maurice Golden, Jamie Greene, Liam Kerr, John Lamont, Gordon Lindhurst, Dean Lockhart, Richard Lyle, Margaret Mitchell, Edward Mountain, Oliver Mundell, Douglas Ross, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Adam Tomkins, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle

That the Parliament congratulates everyone who took part in the Offshore Safety Awards on 17 August 2016 at Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre; welcomes all of the people and businesses that are helping make a positive difference to safety in the North Sea and congratulates those who were honoured by the oil and gas sector for their efforts, with 18 being shortlisted in the six categories, and congratulates Enquest's operations manager, Derek Ellington, whose leadership, it believes, has transformed the culture of one of the North Sea’s most mature assets, the Heather A platform, by improving standards and ensuring good relationships with everyone to improve efficiency and productivity and maintain an excellent safety record.