Motions, Questions and Answers Search

We've released the first version of our new website and are looking for your feedback. Take a look and give us your views:

Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Welcoming Play Scotland's Play Charter

That the Parliament welcomes the promotion of Scotland’s first inclusive Play Charter by Play Scotland, a group which works to promote the importance of play for all children and young people in Cunninghame South and across Scotland, and campaigns to create increased play opportunities in the community; understands that the charter describes a collective commitment to play for all babies, children and young people in Scotland, in line with the right of children to play as set in out in Article 31 of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC); further understands that the charter builds on the Scottish Government’s National Play Strategy and the Getting it Right for Every Child (GIRFEC) approach to supporting children, young people and their families; notes the charter’s aims of highlighting that every child has the right to play and the importance of play, ensuring that a commitment to play is more strongly embedded within policies, strategies, key qualifications and Continuous Professional Development training, ensuring that children and young people are supported in their right to play and that play spaces are valued within communities, inspiring individuals, play providers and organisations to promote a range of inclusive play opportunities, and to bringing back the sight and sound of children playing in communities; notes that all MSPs have been encouraged to become Play Champions by pledging their support to the charter, and wishes Play Scotland every success in its ongoing campaign.

Supported by: Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Gail Ross, Richard Lyle, Ash Denham, John Mason, Stuart McMillan, Sandra White, David Torrance, Emma Harper, Bob Doris, Ivan McKee, Gillian Martin, Tom Arthur, Fulton MacGregor, John Finnie, Elaine Smith, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Jeremy Balfour, Ben Macpherson, Bruce Crawford, Angus MacDonald, Gordon MacDonald, Tavish Scott, Clare Adamson, Maree Todd, Brian Whittle, Richard Lochhead

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 14/03/2017
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.