Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Merchant Navy Medal Awarded to Captain Norman Martin

That the Parliament notes the award of the Merchant Navy Medal to Captain Norman Martin from Oban, who has worked for Caledonian MacBrayne for almost 40 years, including 30 as a ship's master; understands that Captain Martin is one of only 19 people in 2014 to have received this prestigious award, which marks acts of courage and meritorious service by people from the UK or British Overseas Dependent Territories who serve in the merchant navy or fishing fleet; acknowledges that he is the longest serving member of the council of the trade union, Nautilus International, which represents seafarers and allied workers in the UK, the Netherlands and Switzerland, and offers its congratulations to Captain Martin and his family. 

Supported by: Jamie McGrigor, Bill Kidd, Liz Smith, Mary Scanlon, Nanette Milne, Joan McAlpine, Roderick Campbell, Hanzala Malik, Graeme Dey, Jackie Baillie, Anne McTaggart, Richard Lyle, Rob Gibson, John Pentland, George Adam, Angus MacDonald, Kenneth Gibson, Nigel Don, Margaret Mitchell, Liam McArthur, Mike MacKenzie, Gil Paterson, Colin Beattie, Kevin Stewart, Jim Hume, Dennis Robertson, Christian Allard, David Torrance, Sandra White

Current Status: Fallen on 19/03/2015
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.