Election 2021

The Scottish Parliament is in recess ahead of the election on 6 May.

Because of Covid-19, there are some changes to how the Parliament prepares for the election.

Find out more in our Election 2021 pages

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Meeting date: Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Meeting of the Parliament 28 November 2017

Agenda: Time for Reflection, Urgent Question, Alcohol and Drugs Strategies, Equally Safe, Business Motion, Parliamentary Bureau Motion, Decision Time, World AIDS Day 2017


Decision Time

The Presiding Officer (Ken Macintosh)

We come to decision time.

The first question is, that motion S5M-09205, in the name of Angela Constance, on making Scotland equally safe, be agreed to.

Motion agreed to,

That the Parliament welcomes the global 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence; commends the many activists and organisations, both in Scotland and across the world, providing front-line support for survivors, raising awareness of the problem and working tirelessly to challenge the underlying attitudes and inequalities that perpetuate violence against women and girls; calls on men everywhere to stand shoulder to shoulder with women in sending a clear message that violence against women and girls is never acceptable; reaffirms its support for Equally Safe, Scotland’s strategy to prevent and eradicate all forms of violence against women and girls and welcomes the publication of the Equally Safe delivery plan, and agrees that it is for every individual, community and institution to stand up to abuse and harassment, hold perpetrators to account for their behaviour and work together to build a Scotland where everyone can live equally safe.

The Presiding Officer

The final question is, that motion S5M-09223, in the name of Joe FitzPatrick, on committee membership, be agreed to.

Motion agreed to,

That the Parliament agrees that Claire Baker be appointed to replace Daniel Johnson as a member of the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee.